Testimonials and Reviews

TRIPADVISOR REVIEWS

Here are Rocky Mountain Photo Adventures we love for our customers to speak about their experiences with us. Below are what they have to say!

  • DDelano

    5 star rating Amazing Photography Experience I was fortunate enough to have two private tours with Mark recently in the Banff area and can't say enough about the experience. Mark is knowledgeable about the art and craft of photography, His understanding of the techniques and technology of photography was outstanding and he knew the best locations to provide an opportunity to capture some outstanding landscape photos. I gained a lot of knowledge from Mark and he was immensely helpful and very personable and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I will definitely book more tours through RMPA when I'm back in the area next. - 6/20/2020 

  • nandot735

    5 star rating Rockies Three Peaks Photo Tour Had a great full day of shooting iconic locations while in the Banff area with Mark Unrau. He knows the area well and knows photography. He helped me with composition, technique and he freely shared his experiences and knowledge with me. I highly recommend RMPA if you are looking to shoot beautiful landscapes and improve your skills! Mark is a great communicator, easy to talk to and very personable. - 2/07/2020 

  • Sbakush

    5 star rating Great photo experience in the Canadian Rockies! Mark was great with finding me a terrific photographer (Nick Fitzhardinge) for the days that I was staying in Banff. Mark was patient, professional and very informative with all my questions. He is very knowledgeable with location scouting and knows how to set up a worthwhile tour. As for my actual guide, Nick did not come to the tour with his own camera, nor was he shooting his own content at the same time as the one on one lesson. I cannot say how important that was to me and it merits a lot of respect for his ability and professionalism to only focus on me and my learning. I would highly recommend rocky mountain photo adventures to everyone and anyone who wants to take advantage of their time in banff by photographing it in all of its beauty with a trusted company who will get you to the locations at the right times. Thanks so much for everything Mark! - 1/25/2020 

  • Guggiadvisor

    4 star rating Great Day! We had a super exciting day together with Mark as our guide. The organization was excellent from the pick up to the whole tour.
    Mark individually addresses the level of performance of each participant and gives valuable instructions. So every participant can improve his personal level in photography in his own way. Although we did not have optimal weather, everyone was able to get the maximum out of it. The tour offers something for every skill level and has no specific equipment requirements.
    The catering of the participants during the whole tour was excellent.
    Anytime again ! - 1/19/2020 

  • txpictravel

    5 star rating Canadian Rockies photo tour As an amateur photographer, having the opportunity to work with Mark Unrau was a terrific experience. His knowledge and expertise really made the tour so much more enjoyable than just stopping to take a few images. The stops were all spectacular, however, Mark's passion for photography and his willingness to share his talent helped me capture unique images and will change my approach to photography from this point forward. The Abraham Lake and Banff Winter tour provides a variety of settings in which to photograph and sharpen skills. It's also a great introduction to the beauty of the Canadian Rockies. I would hightly recommend this tour for photographers of all experience levels - anyone can improve their photography whether using a smartphone or more sophisticated camera equipment. - 1/18/2020 

  • boatsAZ

    5 star rating Banff winter photography Very good advise received /Wheather was not great but still got good pictures .Recommend if you are interested in photography .Addaps advise to your level . - 1/13/2020 

  • Tom D

    5 star rating Amazing photography experience! I had a one-on-one photography trip with Mark in December 2019. The weather was not ideal but Mark was really knowledgable and enthusiastic; resulting in me getting some excellent shots! Even though I had a strong background in photography I learnt a lot and had a great day driving around in the rockies and taking pictures. I would definitely recommend Rocky Mountain Photo Adventures. - 12/29/2019 

  • Amanda T

    5 star rating Unforgettable Photography Workshop! When I was going to be in Banff for a conference, I arranged two consecutive private morning sunrise workshops with Mark Unrau, owner of Rocky Mountain Photo Adventures. Right from the start, I was impressed with Mark's communication-- prompt, professional, and friendly. He picked me up both mornings from my lodge at 5:30am and took me to THE most gorgeous spots. We didn't stay clumped up with the rest of the photographers, as he knows the best spots away from the others so you can really focus (and get unique shots). I'm a hobbyist photographer who knows the basics, but I came away with a new appreciation for taking time to properly compose an image, working with a variety of filters to manage morning light, and understanding the ins and outs of long exposure shooting. I've been on many photo workshops in the past, and oftentimes the teacher is distracted by their own camera and capturing their own images while also trying to teach. This is NOT Mark. He does not bring out his camera (although he has ALL the equipment you could ever need) and gives you his 100% undivided attention. Mark is a truly gifted and passionate teacher who takes the time to learn about his student and their level of expertise, meets them where they are, and then extends their skills to improve their photography far beyond what I could have imagined. He's also an all around nice guy, who remains available to you after the workshop for questions, follow-up etc. I truly enjoyed my time with him and couldn't recommend him highly enough. Oh, and the shots I captured were truly breathtaking-- Thanks Mark! - 10/03/2019 

  • pixelsbygeorge

    5 star rating Great Experience Mark is an excellent teacher and is very knowledgeable in his craft. The one-on-one workshop allows for more personal instruction. I learned a lot of new techniques and learned about camera functions that I did not know about. I would recommend this workshop to any photographer regardless of their skill level - 9/16/2019 

  • la_rouquine2003

    5 star rating Best photography experience! Max was an amazing guide and took us to some excellent venues; his tips were so valuable and were very helpful! We went to many different spots around Banff even after sunrise and spotted a few mountain goats as well! This was a trip highlight for me! So worth the time and money!! - 9/13/2019 

  • Rizzey

    5 star rating Great photography tour I loved the 2 sunrise tours I did with Mark. He knew exactly the right spots for the best photos, which certainly explained the ‘adventures’ in his company name
    As a professional filmmaker our conversations were on an in-depth level straight away, and it was great to learn from Marks expert knowledge.
    I learned a lot, and will definitely use that in my future photo trips!
    Also; the Banff area is amazing, I wish I could visit more often - 9/06/2019 

testimonials

Awesome private guiding session

Knowing the amazing photogenic places in Banff area I was looking for an instructor to help me to reveal the beauty of the surrounding nature using the photography. Doing my research on internet I have ended up on finding Rocky Mountain Photo Adventures and Mark. Coming from France with different knowledges in photography my husband and I spent 5 days private guiding session with Mark. For this awesome experience, we would like to highlight the competence of Mark and his great professionalism and sense of service. We, my husband and I, have learned so much. The post-processing lessons were also very informative. Everything was great and above all the effort provided by Mark to allow us to have the best photos in fonction of the spot location and the surrounding elements of the landscape independently of our photography skills and the moment of the day. Simply, we spent such a good time with Mark in incredible spots. Mark has changed our way to do photography to better reveal the natural beauty. We would definitely recommend Mark and Rocky Mountain Photo Adventures to anyone who loves photography, at any skill level.

profile-pic
Marie-George Côme Private Guided Workshop with Mark Unrau

Highly recommended

Did the Abraham Lake & Banff Winter Workshop and had an outstanding day. Mark and his team are very knowledgeable of the area and adjust to the existing light and weather conditions. They were very helpful and available to improve the skills of everyone in the group - I learned lots.

Abraham Lake was outstanding, a must if you are in the area in Winter.

profile-pic
Roger Vogler Abraham Lake & Banff Landscape Photography Workshop

Sunrise at Moraine Lake with Mark

I decided to kick off my trip with a personal photo session with Mark. It was a wonderful morning and I learned a ton. What was even better was before my trip Mark helped me pick our the right camera and I was in the market to buy. He taught me how to use my new equipment and snag every shot I was hoping to capture while in the mountains. He was so friendly and our entire morning together was just a lot of fun. Mark has travelled all over the world and it was so nice to converse with him about his adventures and exchange stories. I'm pretty into social media so Mark even helped me process and share the perfect image. All in one morning with RM Photo Adventures I learned how to use my new camera, snap the perfect shot, edit it and share it with family and friends by the time I got home. Learning to mask two photos for one final image was fascinating and made for the perfect print for my home. If I could I'd take Mark, his talent and photo and life insights on all my trips from now on, I would! Time spent with Rock Mountain Photos Adventures is irreplaceable.

profile-pic
Molly Boland Private Guided Workshop with Mark Unrau

Join our mailing list

Sign up to receive  workshop updates, special offers and photography tips! 

banff and canadian rockies landscape photography tours and workshops

FOCUSED ON EXPERIENCE

>